The Whytes

Formed in the summer of 2011, local Edmonton band The Whytes; have quickly developed their place in the music scene. This 5-piece band consists of; Daniel Bourbonnais on guitars, harmonica and vocals, Jeff Meszaros on keyboards, trumpet, accordion and vocals, Shane Ducharme on bass guitar and vocals, Nathan Hodder on drums, and Amy Eschak on fiddle and vocals. Melting sounds of folk, old time western country, blues, and the odd dose of rock n roll, The Whytes have developed a very unique sound holding true to music that is reminiscent of Fleetwood Mac, The Band and Mumford and Sons.

The Whytes recorded their first self-titled 4-song EP in the fall of 2011 just off Whyte Avenue in Edmonton at a studio that has become a home away from home for the group. The EP shows the major diversity and musicianship of the band in only 4 songs, also highlighting the harmonies of the group, from a country western saloon song (Jugband Blues) to the poppy dream story of Vancouver going up in flames (City on Fire).

Since the release of the EP, The Whytes have been growing very fast having shared the stage with some very prominent and upcoming musicians in the Canadian music scene, such as, Shane Philip, The Steadies, Jon and Roy, and The Soulicitors. The Whytes have also made their debut in the festival circuit having played Mad Hatter Festival in Nisku, AB, Alberta’s Own Festival in Lacombe, AB, and Opensky Music Festival, which featured Bob Marley’s, “The Wailers.”

The Whytes shows are ones filled with laughter, energy, and a heavy level of emotion; from simple love ballads to the hard hitting western tune “Emmit Stonehill,” not to mention a lot of foot-stomping and hooting and hollering. They pack a heavy mix of harmonies, rhythmic piano, guitar and fiddle; all while the bass and drums ride on a beat that will pulse within your soul. The Whytes are not to be missed, keep your eyes peeled for them coming at you soon!

Bandcamp SoundCloud Facebook HTML tutorial

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *